Knitter on Skates

Been out of the loop too long… and, that sounds fun? I think?

Posted by Gina on Friday, January 2, 2009

During my time away from the blog, I was also spending time away from the online and local knitting communities.  As a result, a knitting celebrity was here, and I didn’t know it until two and a half months later. Apparently, I missed the Yarn Harlot.  My personal feelings on Stephanie Pearl-McPhee and her blog are very neutral. I don’t like or dislike the person (never met her, so I have no opinion of her).  I also hold a neutral stance on her blog – I’m not hanging on every word, anxiously awaiting the next post.  But I do like her writing style.  I don’t go to her first for answers, although sometimes when I’m looking for answers via Google, I happen across a blog post of hers, and I like what I see.  I’ve never read any of her books, so obviously I have no positive or negative thoughts on them.  It goes without saying that I probably would have missed her local book signing event if I’d known about it ahead of time.  But, she’s so BIG in the knitting community.  I’m extremely surprised that I didn’t at least hear about it.  I guess that’s a sign that I really need to start paying more attention and being more involved in the community from which I’ve taken so much.  I guess it’s time to visit a local yarn store or two.

Speaking of the local knit scene, The Studio will be hosting their midwinter retreat at the end of this month.  I’m tempted to go, but I’m not so sure about the cost. $120 per person, which does not include room reservations or classes.  Will food and a goody-bag be worth that much?  Room reservations will be $75 (plus tax) per night for two nights.  The class fee is $40 per class.  Then the cost of optional spa services, which I’ll probably skip because I have severe personal space issues.  If I only take one class, the cost will be $310 (plus tax for the room reservation).  Add the cost of gas on top of that, and any other extras I decide to throw in (will I want a drink or two from the bar?), and the total price keeps going up.  Is it worth it?  If I only take one class, or none at all, and decide not to indulge in a massage or manicure, what will I do with my time while everyone else is busy in classes or being pampered?  Hang out in the hotel room?  Take a cold walk around the neighborhood?  I’m not entirely familiar with that area, so I don’t know what kind of low cost activities will be available.  I’d love to go, but that’s a lot of money to pay to spend a lot of time by myself… I don’t know.  I’m so tempted.  But then, three to four hundred dollars will buy a lot of yarn… or groceries.  Even if I take a friend, ensuring I won’t spend so much time alone, I’m not sure I can justify the cost.  Maybe I’ll check out the local ravelry group and see what the people who went last year can tell me about their experiences.  Maybe it will be worth it.  I love The Studio, and I can’t imagine that anything they host would be boring or unfulfilling or not worth the cost.  But we’re talking a few hundred dollars…  Will it be worth it?

Leave a Reply

 
