Knitter on Skates

On the needles

Posted by Gina on Friday, August 29, 2008

Wednesday, I picked up my knitting needles for the first time since the day of my last blog post.  A full 21 days.  Oddly, I didn’t even miss knitting (not that I actually had the time to knit, but that’s beside the point).  As you can imagine, it takes some major life events to keep a yarn addict away from the craft for so long.  This month has been interesting.  I’ll keep the emo in check, though.

A few knitting updates:

Travis’s lapghan still isn’t finished.  It will be someday, though – maybe.

Unfortunately, the gloves for the little guy are also unfinished and hibernating, as life events have forced us to (temporarily?) cancel his ice skating lessons.  It’s still hot as heck here, so without the skating lessons, there’s no immediate need for gloves.

Bed of Roses is still hibernating.  I plan on frogging it and using the yarn to make a small blanket for my daughter.  Bed of Roses is a little too lacy for her, yet.  She’s still at an age where she likes to carry blankets around with her, which results in at least a fourth of an average sized toddler blanket being dragged on the floor.  I’m concerned that with all the little holes, it’ll catch on something and snag.  Her second birthday is in November, so I figure that’ll be a good deadline for her blanket.  Not sure which pattern I’ll use.

And finally, the current project which was started on Wednesday.  The little guy is turning four in September.  He want’s a “special blanket.”  It’s going to be a large triangle shaped blanket, in garter stitch.  I realize that doesn’t sound “special” to the experienced knitters out there, with it’s simple shaping and uninteresting stitch pattern, but it’s perfect for him.  He’s going through a triangle phase right now, and he loves to run his fingers along the garter stitch bumps.  I’ll get a picture up sooner or later.

2 Responses to “On the needles”

  1. Amanda said

    I’m glad to see you are back! I totally know how you feel about being in a “knitters rut”. I would love to sit and knit and that be the only thing I have to worry about…unfortunately at this point of how my life is going lately…that is all a big DREAM! Glad you are blogging again! Hope things are doing better for you.

  2. Gina said

    Amanda, thank you! I can’t say things are better, but there’s light at the end of the tunnel, so that’s a good thing. It’s good to be missed. :-) Even though I didn’t miss knitting, I *did* miss my blog, my readers, and the blogs/authors on my blog roll very much.

Leave a Reply

 
