Knitter on Skates

New Technique of the Month: Duplicate Stitch

Posted by Gina on Monday, July 7, 2008

Well, here it is. My very first attempt at Duplicate Stitch. I can’t say it was difficult, but it’s going to take a little practice to get the tension right. If it’s too tight, the knitted fabric will “pucker”. If it’s too loose, the duplicate stitches will stick out too far. In the picture, you can see how some of the duplicate stitches are too tight, and some aren’t tight enough. This is going to be a handy thing to know, once I get the tension right!

A little bit of Duplicate Stitch info:

  • Duplicate stitch is also known as Swiss Darning
  • The most common uses for duplicate stitch are to repair or correct errors in knitted garments, and to add embellishments to “finished” knitted garments.

I thought it would be fun to post a video of myself doing each new technique for the very first time, but that didn’t turn out so well this time around. The video (taken on a cell phone) of my very first attempt came out so dark I couldn’t see anything. Then I thought, “Well, a second attempt will be the next best thing.” That didn’t turn out so well, either. For the second attempt, I used my compact point-and-shoot digital camera, not realizing it only captures 15 seconds of video at a time (I’ve never used the “movie” option. I bought it solely for taking still pictures). It also looked much better in the view finder than it did on my computer, so the end result was a blurry, bouncy 15 seconds of ‘What the f… is going on there?’ If you want to see it, despite the incredibly poor quality, let me know and I’ll post it. I have a new camera on its way to my house, so I’ll play with the video mode on that one and will hopefully be able to record better videos for next months new technique. My plan was to post a video AND a still picture. Hopefully that’ll work next time.

Next months new technique: English Knitting (I learned continental)

Leave a Reply

 
