Knitter on Skates

Learning new things

Posted by Gina on Saturday, July 5, 2008

It can be easy for me to become sedentary in the things I do. With knitting, I’ve found myself sticking to things I know instead of challenging myself to learn new techniques. I want to knit X because it’s “safe”. I’ve stopped learning. This, of course, doesn’t make much sense to me because there are so many techniques I don’t know. Things that would progress my craft to new and wonderful levels. Colorful levels, too, when I finally learn Fair Isle and Intarsia. I would have a much wider selection of patterns to choose from, and I’d have more knowledge from which to pull to create patterns of my own. I used to look forward to the challenge of learning a new skill. When did that change?

Thinking about this (maybe over-thinking a little) has inspired me to set goals for myself. I’m going to learn a new technique every month. Not master new techniques in a month (I know some will take longer than others to learn/master), but at least devote the month to getting the learning process started. I’m going to use my blog to help keep me on track. I don’t want to slack off in plain view of my “friends” from Ravelry, and the few subscribers who have been faithful (for reasons that are a mystery to me. I’m glad you’re here, though. I love that you’re reading my blog!). Thus, the first “series” for my blog as been created. The first week of every month, I’m going to start (and post about) learning a new skill or technique, and give semi-regular updates throughout the month. This month, even though I’ve already missed a week due to being out of town and my birthday and a holiday, I’m going to try my hand at Duplicate Stitch. Looks easy enough, right? My first official post will be Monday.  With pictures!

3 Responses to “Learning new things”

  1. ria f said

    That’s a great plan! I decided at the beginning of the year that at least every other project would involve something new. So I have actually made socks and a crocheted afghan this year! So I will be rooting for you. Duplicate stitch is something I need to learn as well

    Ria (tonyfan20 on Ravelry)

  2. Mr. Abby said

    i heard somewhere that awesome hats w/ built in mustaches can be quite challenging and rewarding… just sayin…

  3. Gina said

    Ria, thanks for the comment and encouragement! I also knit socks for the first time this year. It was an experience, but not exactly the adventure I thought it would be. Crochet is on my list of things to learn. :-)

    Mr. Abby, may a giant mustache-hat monster terrorize you while you sleep! So there. Hmph!

Leave a Reply

 
