Knitter on Skates

I found the perfect swift!

Posted by Gina on Monday, April 21, 2008

Crafting Jen posted instructions for a Tinker Toy swift over on her blog. It’s too bad the Classic Jumbo Builder Set is $31.99!!!!! :-o Once I score a good coupon, I could pay that same price for a “real” swift. I also spotted a swift made from PVC pipe. I think I’ll go with the PVC pipe for cost effectiveness.

(By the way, if anyone wants to buy my kids Tinker Toys for their birthdays… Just sayin’…)

2 Responses to “I found the perfect swift!”

  1. The TinkerToy idea is most handy when you already have them in the house, or can find them at a yard sale or something. Of course, they often can be found at a bargain through regular outlets, too – I just had a commenter say they bought a set for only $9 at Amazon.com.

    The real key here, whether you make your swift from TinkerToys, Legos, or PVC, is to think outside of the box and use readily available materials to make things that would otherwise be costly.

    I saw the PVC swift on Ravelry, too – it’s a great implementation of a design that’s common in wood, but seldom seen any other way.

  2. Gina said

    Jen, thanks for the comment! My mother-in-law is a professional garage sale shopper and e-bay buyer (ok, not really, but she might as well be, lol. She can find literally ANYTHING. I’ve never known anyone who could find hard to find items or really good deals the way she can). I’ll see if she’s willing to search for a used or severely discounted Classic Jumbo Tinker Toy set. Cost aside, your Tinker Toy swift would be the ideal for us. Easy to put together, easy to take apart, easy to store (after I make some room in the toy box. *ahem*), and good old fashioned fun for the kids.

    The thing about readily available materials is that Travis and I have only been homeowners for a little over a year. Prior to that, we lived in an apartment complex that took care of all of the handy-man duties. Needless to say, we haven’t had the opportunity to build a stash raw material scraps such as wood, metal, or pipes. We’re working on it, though. :-) With each little fix-it job, we’re able to save a little of this and a little of that.

Leave a Reply

 
