Knitter on Skates

Gosh, those knitters…

Posted by Gina on Saturday, April 12, 2008

I’m always surprised by other peoples surprise at the amount of diversity in any given group.  Not offended, just… curious?  I guess?  Knitters, for instance (because this is a *mostly* knitting blog).  It seems that there are so many stereotypes in regards to knitting and those who knit.  They’re all conservative, reserved, soft spoken, polite, white women who may be just a tad feeble minded.  And they ALL have/love cats.  Can’t forget cats!  While some knitters might fit into a certain stereotype, there is so much diversity within the knitting community.  Just as much diversity as one might find at a bar, park, or grocery store.  Saying something along the lines of “Knitters are (insert stereotype of choice)” is about as accurate as saying “People who wear blue eat strawberries every Tuesday.”  It’s silly.  The same goes for (mostly) any other group (bikers, lawyers, people who eat strawberries every Tuesday…).

– Don’t mind me, I’m just rambling –

I think the world will become a better place when people can look beyond stereotypes and see individuals for who they really are.  Not that stereotypes bother me (too much).  After all, the people who know me don’t need stereotypes to tell them who I am, and anyone willing to pre-judge me based on stereotypes isn’t worth my time.  But, I think the world would be kinder with a few more open (and educated) minds.  Just maybe… if we stop judging…

That’s all.

2 Responses to “Gosh, those knitters…”

  1. Mr. Abby said

    must… resist… urge… to post… racist comments…
    :P

  2. Gina said

    I know it’s hard to resist certain urges while in my presence, but that particular urge is a first for me! ;)

Leave a Reply

 
