Knitter on Skates

The soaker. Frogged. And the new knitter in my life.

Posted by Gina on Sunday, March 2, 2008

I was determined to finish the soaker. Really. But as it sat there, unfinished, waiting to be seamed together, I grew to hate it. I hated looking at it. I knew I was going to hate using it. They say you should only knit something if you enjoy it. That it’s not about how much you will like and want the finished object, that it’s about the journey. If you don’t like the journey, you won’t like the FO. I would still love to have a wool soaker for my daughter. But the truth is, knitting the soaker wasn’t fun. It was discouraging. It was tedious in a bad way. I stumbled through it. I didn’t like the journey, and although I thought maybe the soaker would be the exception to the rule because I wanted it so much, I did end up hating it. It’s more of a resentment, really. This is the second project in a matter of months that hasn’t turned out very well. Why? It’s so frustrating!

I started on a new soaker a few weeks ago. This time, it was a pleasure! All I have to do is seam it, take a picture for the blog, and start using it.

On another bright note, my “knitting circle” (never thought I’d have one) is slowly expanding. One of my best and oldest friends is learning how to knit. I keep meaning to go to her place, or meet up with her somewhere, so we can knit together, but life keeps getting in the way. I hope she grows to love it as much as I do. We’ve known each other for 17 years. While you’d think we’d have so much in common after all this time, we really don’t. We have some things in common, but it will be nice to have one more area of our lives we can share together. Here’s to new knitters and old friends!

Leave a Reply

 
