Knitter on Skates

Well, Antifreeze is done.

Posted by Gina on Sunday, December 9, 2007

I’m not very happy with it. It looks good, but the fit is…. weird. I must have not had the right gauge in some areas. It wasn’t a hard pattern, so I’m not sure where I went wrong. It’s always so frustrating for me when a pattern doesn’t turn out perfectly. Travis likes it and says he’ll wear it as-is, which is what matters, I guess. It’s his, after-all. Part of me wants to frog it and completely start over, but part of me wants to just let it be. It did turn out to be a fun pattern, though. I really enjoyed seeing how the short rows created shape and dimension.

Now, being without a yarn stash, I’ll be making coasters with scrap yarn. I’m looking for some interesting patterns, so any suggestions are welcome! :-)

3 Responses to “Well, Antifreeze is done.”

  1. Meghan said

    If you REALLY wanted to, you could wait till you got more yarn and make him another Antifreeze… make ’em in different colors (with a better fit) and he’ll just think you’re making him more of them instead of trying to make better ones. :P

  2. Gina said

    He already knows it’s not quite right, lol. Thanks for the suggestion, though. I think it’s time to move on. I might make another one some day, but not for a while (maybe next winter).

  3. Travis said

    It was nice and warm the few times I had occasion to use it before putting the scooter away for the winter. I like that it is a bit “rustic” looking; that makes it unique, and mine. It felt really good that you had taken so much of your free time and dedicated it to making something for me. It made me feel very special, and I would have been just as grateful for that if it had not fit me at all.

Leave a Reply

 
