Knitter on Skates

Winging it, and kind of clueless.

Posted by Gina on Friday, November 23, 2007

We’ll be leaving some time tomorrow for a very cold weekend at the lake. I can’t find one of the baby’s diaper covers (I refuse to use the plastic ones from Wal-Mart), so with the sole skein of wool yarn I found in the back of my closet earlier today, I’m going to make a soaker on the way there. I’ve never made one before. I don’t have a pattern, and I don’t have a printer so I can’t print off a pattern. Blah. Anyway, I’m thinking it’ll turn out ok. I’ve read (and tried to memorize) some patterns, so hopefully some of what I’ve read will stick. Now I just need to remember to get some Lansinoh before leaving “the city” (er, suburbia) and entering the Ozarks. The plan is for the soaker to be finished by the time I get there, and then lanolized and dry before Saturday morning (in the hopes that we can make it through tomorrow with three AIO’s and only one cover for the prefolds).

Advice would be much appreciated, though. I’ll check to see if I have any new comments before I leave…

By the way, Alex’s blanket survived the washing machine! :-) For anyone who might want to know, feather and fan blankets made with Caron Simply Soft can be washed at least one time on the rigorous spin cycle.

2 Responses to “Winging it, and kind of clueless.”

  1. Caitlin said

    Good to know Caron Simply Soft can take a heavy duty washing. I’ve been wondering that myself for a while!

  2. Gina said

    Thanks for the comment! I had been wondering, and now I know! With a 3 year old and a 1 year old, I tend to have some… interesting… laundry loads. I’m glad their feather and fan blankets can take a beating in the washing machine once in a while. :-)

Leave a Reply

 
