Knitter on Skates

Roller Derby – Tryouts? And some videos..

Posted by Gina on Monday, November 19, 2007

It was requested that I post more about roller derby. This one’s for you. ;)

It’s old news, but I’m still thrilled about it. Congrats to the Kansas City Roller Warriors for winning the 2007 WFTDA National Championship!

Tryouts for KCRW are coming up quickly. The closer they get, the less enthusiastic I feel. I haven’t had much time to practice and get in shape. I’m seriously considering not trying out this year. Part of me wants to, even though I ‘know’ I won’t make it. It’ll be a learning experience, right? And it’ll show that I’m interested and maybe help me score some brownie points for when I am ready. I did try out last year, and what I gained from that experience has been carried with me thus far (just need time to practice!). How much more can I learn *without being accepted* this time around? Another lesson in humility? Sounds oh so tempting /sarcasm. Maybe it will be worth it. Another option I’ve been considering is becoming a ref. Refs don’t need as much skating ability (and some refs don’t skate at all). It would be a good way for me to get some skating experience, while learning the ins and outs of roller derby in preparation for the 2009 tryouts.

Decisions and self doubt. They don’t go hand in hand. While I’m trying to make up my mind, here are some videos of KCRW – the 2007 champions – in action. The second video is of my absolute favorite skater – Snotrocket. She’s awesome! The videos pale in comparison to watching KCRW and Snotrocket live, but they’re still fun:

2 Responses to “Roller Derby – Tryouts? And some videos..”

  1. Amanda said

    You know…I thought about trying out as well. Even thought as to what my “name” would be. It would be totally fun to be a part of the KCRW. I say go for it! If you don’t make it, you don’t make it. It’s not like you can’t tryout again and again till you are ready. I don’t remember the last time I skated so I’ve had absolutely no practice whatsoever!!! But I think it would be awesome!

  2. Mr. Abby said

    Just do it! seriously, couldnt you try out and then if you dont make it become a ref? does it have to be either/or?

Leave a Reply

 
