Knitter on Skates

Future project goals and WIP’s

Posted by Gina on Monday, November 12, 2007

First, I’d like to apologize for the lack of pictures of my current and finished projects. I lost my camera, and I’m saving up to buy a new one.

I’m currently working on two projects. First, Antifreeze for my husband so his face doesn’t freeze on the cold days when I need the car and he has to ride his motorcycle to work. I’ve only worked about an inch so far, but it’s coming along nicely. I’m very excited to get farther along in this. It’s my first project working short rows. And the Feather and Fan blanket for my daughter. This is really my project for when I’m in between projects, or when it’s not convenient to have a pattern in front of me. There’s so little variation in the pattern that it can become boring very quickly. I love the finished look of Feather and Fan, though, so I’ll be happy to have it around when I’m done.

My short term project goals are actually not to finish my current projects (much to hubby’s dismay, hehe), but to put those on hold temporarily and focus on knitting for Christmas (once I have the yarn. Just a few more days! I can’t wait!). I’m going to try as hard as I can to squeeze in Antifreeze before Christmas, but Travis has been the main recipient of my projects so far. It’s only fair to devote some time to others. ;) Here’s my knitting list:

  • Roll brim hat in black chenille to go with Catherine’s Christmas dress (based on the the Rolled Brim Chemo Cap available at headhuggers.org. I’ll be making adjustments for her size, as well as some shaping adjustments at the top.)
  • Mary Jane booties in black chenille to match her hat (some of my relatives have a “no shoes inside” rule, so instead of buying dress shoes that she won’t even wear most of the day, I decided to make booties. It’ll also help to keep her feet warm and help prevent too much wear on the toes of her tights).
  • Leg warmers or pants for Catherine to wear under her Christmas dress while we go from place to place on Christmas. Tights just aren’t warm, and she gets cold so easily.
  • Wool hats for my son and my nephew.
  • Dishcloths, dishcloths, and more dishcloths!

So much to make, so little time! Fortunately, they’re all small items, so I should only have to devote a day or two to each one. It’s been a while since I’ve had so much diversity among projects. This is going to be great! I love having another reason to love Christmas.

Leave a Reply

 
