Knitter on Skates

Let the holiday knitting begin!

Posted by Gina on Friday, November 9, 2007

Yeah, I know it’s already a week into November. I hadn’t planned on knitting gifts for anyone this year, because I honestly don’t have the time or money. But, my mother-in-law has “offered” to go yarn shopping with me so that she can buy yarn for me to make dishrags for gifts. There’s a long, long story that isn’t too relevant. Basically, she “subtly” hinted at the fact that she wants dishcloths (she didn’t flat out ask for them, but the hint was there and blatantly obvious). She’s buying yarn for me – for her. No big deal. I’m just glad I can finally work on something other than this feather and fan blanket! I get to experiment with yarn that didn’t come from Wal-Mart (a very rare occurrence – we are living paycheck to paycheck right now, so even Wal-Mart yarn is a luxury at the moment), and I get to actually make the patterns I’ve written down and charted. Both of my grandmothers, my mother-in-law, and my mom love hand knit dishrags, and I’ve had their personalized patterns ready to go for months. The only thing missing was the yarn.

I’m getting a stash! I feel so good. The only “stash” I currently have is the last skein I need to finish the blanket I’ve been working on for the longest time. Even though the stash will be temporary, it’s going to be such a nice and welcome change of pace. For once, I’m glad she’s being intrusive (part of the long story briefly mentioned above).

Leave a Reply

 
